Are you loving Midjourney so far but not sure how you feel about the fact that everyone can see the images that you create? (Including your prompts)

If that's you, this article is for you!

We will go over the top four tips that you can use to use Midjourney more privately in 2024.

Quick Answer: How to use Midjourney privately

The best way to use Midjourney more privately is to create your own private server and invite the Midjourney Bot to it (or message it privately via Discord).

After creating images, use the ❌ emoji to delete the image forever. Another option is using Stealth Mode, but it's currently only included in the Pro Plan.

Let's go into more depth now for more information about these tips and a few more good-to-know things when you want to learn how to make Midjourney images private!

How to Use Midjourney Privately (Top 4 Stealth Tips)

1. Using your own private Discord server and inviting the Midjourney Bot to it

Let's start with one of the best options to keep your prompts private; inviting the Midjourney Bot to your own Discord server.

Here's how to make a private Discord server for Midjourney:

  1. Press the 'Add a Server' button in the left side menu bar, and then press 'Create My Own'.
Steps to create your own private Discord server
  1. Then follow the Discord server setup options (like giving the server a name).
  2. After you have your own Discover server (which is private by default), go to one of Midjourney's Discord channels, click on the Midjourney Bot profile (by either clicking on its name or the profile picture), and then press 'Add to Server'.
First step of adding the Midjourney Bot to your Discover server
  1. After that, select the server that you want the Midjourney Bot to join (in case you have multiple, make sure to select the right one), and then press 'Continue'.
Second step of adding the Midjourney Bot to your Discover server
  1. Then, simply press the 'Authorize' button, and you will see that the bot has been added to your server:
Success pop up when adding Midjourney Bot to your own Discord server
  1. Now you can continue using Midjourney the same as before. Simply type /imagine:
Midjourney Bot in your Discord server example

2. Direct messaging the Midjourney Bot privately

If you don't want to create your own private Discord server (yet), you can also privately message the Midjourney Bot directly.

Here's how to do that:

  1. Go to one of Midjourney's Discord channels, click on the Midjourney Bot profile (by either clicking on its name or the profile picture), and then type something there (and press enter):
Directly messaging the Midjourney Bot on Discord
  1. Now you can continue using Midjourney the same as before. Simply type /imagine:
Midjourney Bot private message example
Note: You don't need to type hello. It's just an example!

If you're not sure anymore how to find the chat back, you can go to this URL, and there you will find the Midjourney Bot:

https://discord.com/channels/@me

3. Deleting the images after you have created them

Now that you know how to message the Midjourney Bot privately via direct messaging or by creating your own Discord server, it's important to understand that this might hide the prompts from others — it won't keep your images private on the Midjourney website.

All the images that you create will still show up in your Midjourney Gallery:

Public view the Midjourney Gallery from Your Dream AI

Tip: Not sure how to find your Midjourney Gallery to check which images are currently shown there? Check out our detailed guide here!

First of all, it's important to learn how to find all your Midjourney images, which you can do here.

After you know what images to delete, here's how to delete them for good:

  1. Find the chat message from the Midjourney Bot with the image that you want to delete.
  2. Add the ❌ emoji as a reaction to the message, and the bot will automatically remove the chat. This also deletes the image from your Public Gallery (it will be deleted everywhere).

For a more detailed explanation, check out our article on how to delete your created Midjourney images.

Also, keep in mind that once you delete an image, you can never get it back. So make sure to upscale and download the ones that you want to save before doing this.

Tip: There's one way to save your Midjourney job to get the exact same image again: saving the Job ID! (You can, for example, save it in the same folder on your computer where you saved the images)

4. Using Midjourney's official Stealth Mode feature

Last but not least is using Midjourney's Stealth Mode feature.

I saved this one for last because you have to pay extra if you want to use this. (Or double-check if it's already included in your current Midjourney pricing plan)

What is Stealth Mode?

As you know by now, the images you create with Midjourney are public by default, which means that everyone can see them.

People can visit your profile and see what you have created. This also allows you to view and learn from other creators' prompts.

However, Midjourney knows that not everyone wants that, so they decided to create Stealth Mode!

Stealth Mode prevents your images from being visible to others on the Midjourney website.

How to access Stealth Mode

The big downside to Stealth Mode is that you will have to subscribe to the Pro Plan (which is currently $60 per month)

Pricing plans of Midjourney

Just look for 'Stealth image generation'.

After you subscribe to the Pro Plan, you can toggle between Stealth and Public mode by using these commands (inside Discord):

  • /stealth
  • /public

So, if you don't think the tips in this article will be enough for you, then consider subscribing to the Pro Plan, so you can access Stealth Mode.

Just don't forget to combine it with tip number two or three; otherwise, people can still see your prompts in the public Midjourney channel that you used to create the images! (Even while using Stealth Mode)

Conclusion

As you can see, using Midjourney more privately isn't as hard as you might have thought.

Whether you message the Midjourney Bot privately or create your own Discord server, there’s a solution that will help you keep your prompts safe.

Just don't forget to delete the images after you have downloaded them!

Also, if you're wondering how to find a Midjourney user profile by their Discord ID or a filename, check out this article here.

If you have any questions, don't forget to leave them in the comments below.

Want to learn more about Midjourney?

Ready to move your Midjourney skills to the next level? Check out the articles below:

Author logo at Your Dream AI
Author

My name is Richard, and I co-created Your Dream AI. Mainly because of my love for AI — but also because I'm curious about what will happen with artificial intelligence in the upcoming years.

Write A Comment

Pin It