Imagine this; you have just created the most amazing image with Midjourney.
But how do you keep it private? How do you make sure others won't use the same prompt?
Well, one of the ways to use Midjourney privately is by deleting your created Midjourney images so they won't show up on your Public Gallery.
Quick Answer: How to delete Midjourney images
1. Find the chat message from the Midjourney Bot with the image that you want to delete.
2. Add the ❌ emoji as a reaction to the message, and the bot will automatically remove the chat. This also deletes the image from your Public Gallery (it will be deleted everywhere).
If you can't find the chat message with the image that you want to delete or need more info about these steps, don't worry!
Let's go more in-depth now:
1. Let's go to Discord to find the chat message from the Midjourney Bot
The first step is an easy one; let's go to the Discord Channel to find the message from the Midjourney Bot with the image that you want to delete.
Tip: Lost the image in your Discord chat? Or not sure how to find them? Check out our other article here to learn how to find your created Midjourney images!
Once you have found the image you're looking for, it's time to go to the next step; removing the message from the channel.
How to delete a Midjourney image that is old and you can't find in the channel (Via the Job ID)
There might come a time when you want to delete a Midjourney image that you created, but you can't seem to find it anymore in the Discord channel that you're using for Midjourney.
For example, if the original message was deleted in Discord.
If that's you right now, simply follow the steps below:
First of all, let's go to the Midjourney website by clicking this link here — and make sure you're signed in via your Discord account:
Now your goal is to find the image that you want to delete. Either by scrolling through all your images on your profile (don't forget to press ‘All')
Or you can click on the ‘Archive' button and scroll through it until you have found the image that you want to delete.
Once you have found it, click on the image so that you can see these three dots in a row:
Click on that, then click on ‘Copy…' so that you see ‘Job ID' — click on that one to copy it.
Example of a Job ID: 718f3d29-a4b6-402e-a9a1-2203643188fd
Now go back to the Discord Channel that you use to communicate with the Midjourney Bot, and type in /show [paste the Job ID here]
Here's an example:
Then press enter, and Midjourney will load the original chat:
Tip: For more information about this, check out our Midjourney original message was deleted guide here.
Let's continue with how to remove that chat message so the image gets deleted:
2. Removing the chat message from the Midjourney Bot
First of all, don't forget to download the image(s) before removing the chat message because they will be gone for good.
Tip: As you can see above, you can restore an image via Midjourney via the Job ID, so if you want, you can copy the Job ID of the images that you're deleting, so you can restore them later on!
To remove a chat message from the Midjourney Bot (which will remove the created image as well), simply press the ‘Add Reaction' button and add this emoji: ❌
Don't forget to click on the emoji:
Yes, that might sound weird, seeing that there's a ‘Detele Message' button as well, but it works!
The great thing is after you have used the ❌ emoji one time, it will show up directly at the top (as you can see in the screenshot above).
Just don't forget to delete both the upscale(s) and the grid version (if you want them to be fully removed).
Also, if it is stuck, like the example below, check out this article here to learn how to cancel the Midjourney Job.
After that, you will see that the image has been deleted from your Midjourney Gallery.
Not sure how to view or share your Midjourney Gallery? Check out our other article here!
Good to know: Even if you remove the Midjourney images this way, keep in mind that it might have been visible for a little bit to everyone. And keep in mind that Midjourney will still collect the data related to the prompt:
“Text or image prompts you input into the Services, or public chats you maintain on the service” (Source)
Can everyone see your Midjourney images and profile?
Yes, the images you create with Midjourney are public by default, which means that everyone can see them.
People can visit your profile and see what you have created. This also allows you to view and learn from other creators' prompts.
However, if you want to learn how to use Midjourney more privately, check out our guide to using Midjourney privately here!
Also, if you want to keep it public and want to, for example, share your Midjourney Gallery with friends, check out this article here.
How to find someone else's Midjourney user profile
Midjourney made every creation via their tool visible to everyone so that you and others can learn from it.
But how do you find a specific user on Midjourney?
What if you saw a few great images on Discord but are unsure how to find the rest of the images that person created?
If you want to learn how to do this, check out our guide to finding someone's Midjourney Gallery here.
Now you know exactly how to delete all your Midjourney images or only delete a few that you don't want others to see.
I hope that the other tips, like how to use Midjourney privately, also helped you further.
If you have any other questions, don't forget to leave them in the comments below!
Want to learn more about Midjourney?
Ready to move your Midjourney skills to the next level? Check out the articles below: